The Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards elected three new directors to its board of directors at its Fall 2012 meeting.

The Washington, D.C., based group announced Thursday it added Blaine F. Aikin, Arthur B. Laby, and Thomas C. Nelson to its board.

“These three individuals bring unique talents, experiences and perspectives to CFP Board,” said Nancy Kistner, the chair of the CFP Board of Directors. “We look forward to working with them as they help to strengthen the CFP certification and advance the organization’s mission of benefiting the public.”

Effective Jan. 1, the board will have 14 voting members and one non-voting member, Kevin R. Keller, the chief executive officer of the CFP Board.

Aikin is president and CEO of fi360. Known for his expertise in the area of fiduciary responsibility, Aikin was previously the chief knowledge officer and director of training at fi360.

Laby is a professor of law at Rutgers School of Law – Camden and is a former assistant general counsel of the Securities and Exchange Commission. An expert on securities law and its effect on the economy, Laby has published widely on financial services regulation.

Nelson is the president of the national anti-hunger group Share Our Strength and an adjunct professor at Georgetown University’s McDonough Business School. Before that, he was the chief operating officer at AARP, where he had direct oversight of AARP’s core organizational activities and oversaw an $800 million budget.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Financial Planning content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access