The Senate Banking Committee unanimously agreed to recommend the full Senate confirm Kara Stein and Michael Piwowar as Securities and Exchange Commission members and chairman Mary Jo White to serve a full term.

"As our nation's economy continues to recover, we need strong leaders in place at our financial regulators and other agencies," committee chairman Tim Johnson, D-S.D. said after the vote on Thursday. "The committee's bipartisan approval ... is a positive step forward and I hope the Senate will move quickly to consider and confirm these nominees."

Stein, a Democrat who formerly served as a top aide to Sen. Jack Reed, D-R.I., would replace SEC commissioner Elisse Walter, whose term expired June 5 of last year. Walter can stay on an additional 18 months.

Piwowar, chief economist to the banking committee, would replace SEC commissioner Troy Paredes, whose term expired last month.

White is currently serving a partial term vacated by Walter before she replaced Mary Schapiro as chairman at the end of 2012, before White was confirmed as chairman. White's full term would expire June 5, 2019.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Financial Planning content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access