The Securities and Exchange Commission announced the members of its newly created Investor Advisory Committee. The committee’s mission is to give investors a greater voice in the regulator’s work.The 15-member panel will advise the Commission about matters concerning investors in the securities markets; provide investor perspective on current, non-enforcement regulatory issues; and be a source of information and recommendations to the Commission concerning its regulatory programs from the point of view of investors. The committee will be co-chaired by Richard “Mac” Hisey, president of AARP Financial and AARP Funds, and Hye-Won Choi, senior vice president and head of corporate governance for TIAA-CREF.

“Investors need a greater voice at the commission,” said SEC Commissioner Luis A, Aguilar, adding that the committee will enhance the SEC’s traditional role as an advocate for investors. Aguilar will serve as the SEC’s primary sponsor of the advisory committee. The SEC will file the advisory committee’s charter with Congress in the next several weeks, after which the committee will begin its work.

The other members are:

  •         • Mark Anson, president and executive director of investment services of Chicago-based Nuveen Investments
  •          • Mercer Bullard, Founder and President of Oxford, Miss.-based Fund Democracy, Inc., a membership organization for mutual fund shareholders, and Associate Professor of Law at the University of Mississippi Law School
  •         • Jeff Brown, senior vice president of legislative and regulatory affairs at  San Francisco-based Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.
  •         • Stephen Davis, Senior Fellow and Project Director for Yale University’s School for Management's Millstein Center for Corporate Governance, and non-executive chair of Hermes Equity Ownership Service, based in the U.K.
  •         • Abe Friedman, global head of corporate governance and proxy voting and managing director for U.K.-based Barclays Global Investors
  •         • Mellody Hobson, president of Ariel Capital Management
  •         • Dennis A. Johnson, managing director of Burbank, Calif.-based Shamrock Capital Advisors, Inc.
  •        • Adam Kanzer, managing director and general counsel of New York-based Domini Social Investments LLC
  •         Mark Latham, Director of Proxy Democracy, a nonprofit organization helping individual investors
  •        Barbara Roper, director of investor protection of the Washington, D.C.-based Consumer Federation of America
  •         Dallas Salisbury, president and chief executive officer of the Washington, D.C.-based Employee Benefit Research Institute
  •        Kurt Schacht, managing director of the CFA Institute
  •         Damon Silvers, associate general counsel for the Washington, D.C.-based American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)
  •         Kurt Stocker, chairman of the individual investors advisory board of the New York Stock Exchange
  •         Ann Yerger, executive director of the Washington, D.C.-based Council of Institutional Investors

Subscribe Now

Access to premium content including in-depth coverage of mutual funds, hedge funds, 401(K)s, 529 plans, and more.

3-Week Free Trial

Insight and analysis into the management, marketing, operations and technology of the asset management industry.